The Niagara Falls, USA & Canada


Niagara Falls is the collective name for three waterfalls that straddle the international border between Canada and the United States, more specifically, between the province of Ontario and the state of New York. From largest to smallest, the three waterfalls are the Horseshoe Falls (one on the left side), the American Falls (biggest of the two in the right side) and the Bridal Veil Falls (smallest of the two in the right side of the picture). The Horseshoe Falls lie mostly on the Canadian side and the American Falls entirely on the American side, separated by Goat Island. The smaller Bridal Veil Falls are also on the American side, separated from the other waterfalls by Luna Island.The Niagara Falls are renowned both for their beauty and as a valuable source of hydroelectric power. Balancing recreational, commercial, and industrial uses has been a challenge for the stewards of the falls since the 19th century.

Every evening beginning at dusk, the Falls are lit in the colours of the rainbow. The below video shows the different color change during the night.

Linking to Skywatch Friday
Next PostNewer Post Previous PostOlder Post Home